God keeps His promise: Baby Isaac

Posted: October 21, 2014 in Bible Learning Fun
Tags: , , , , , ,

As a follow-up to yesterday’s post, Abraham follows God, I thought I’d share some of the activities we did a couple of years ago while learning the related story of God fulfilling his promise to give Abraham children, starting with Baby Isaac. Remi was three when we did these, and they should be perfect for your younger students.

Here, Remi shows how many children Abraham had, even though he was already 99 years old:

No children for Abraham

I also had her show me with her face how that made him feel, but then we talked about how God had a plan for Abraham. As we went through the story, she worked on this craft:

Abraham, Sarah, Isaac, & stars

(I’m usually meticulous about record keeping, but for the life of me, I can’t find where I got this. So…if you happen to recognize it, please let me know so I can give due credit.)

The star strips made for great cutting practice for little hands…..

cutting stars

…..and once they were all cut out and colored, she glued them onto construction paper around the pictures of Abraham’s family as a reminder of God’s promise.

Remember God's promise to Abraham

While she glued, we discussed the fact that each time Abraham looked up at the night sky, he had a powerful reminder that God keeps His promises. It’s hard to imagine that he ever saw stars without thinking about that.

I wanted to impress on her how old Abraham was when Isaac was finally born, so I had her clap with me while I counted from one to 100.

Clapping to 100--Abraham's age

Her hands got tired…and she got the point. Abraham had to be patient and wait a long time…and sometimes, so do we.

Here, Remi shows me (during our review time) what Sarah did when she heard she’d finally have a baby:

Sarah laughs when she hears she's having a baby

Of course, we finished up the lesson by finding a baby to represent Isaac and taking care of him as Sarah would have done.

Baby Isaac (?!)

(Could I have chosen a worse representation of a baby boy?)

taking care of baby Isaac

As she was rocking and holding her baby, I asked Remi to tell me the best gifts God has given her. Her answer:

“A dog, a room, a fan, plants, books, toys, my family, and a bed.

Oh, and flowers. All in that order.”

Next, I asked, “What are some things you want God to give you?” Her answer:

“Buckets, a lake with ducks, and a huge kitchen, just for me.

So I can cook real food. And you can help me.

How ’bout it?”

Remember: You want your child to learn the Bible story, but you always want him to understand how it applies to his life, too. God never breaks His promises. He delights in blessing us. We can trust Him!

You can find this Bible story in Genesis 15:1-6 (promise of innumerable descendants), Genesis 18:1-15 (promise of Isaac) and Genesis 21:1-8 (birth of Isaac).

Enjoy learning together!

Comments
  1. […] God keeps His promise: Baby Isaac […]

Leave a Reply

